21 June 2018

Nigeria: Govt Approves 28 Judges for Courts

Abuja — President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of 28 judicial officers for the Court if Appeal and High Courts.

The approval followed the recommendation of National Judicial Council (NJC).

A statement issued yesterday by the Media Director of NJC, Mr. Soji Oye, read that out of the number, 12 would be serving as justices of the Court of Appeal, nine are to be sworn in as judges of the Federal High Court while the remaining seven judges are for Federal Capital Territory High Court.

They include Justices P. A. Mahmud; F. O. Ojo; I. A. Andenyangsto; G. O. Kolawole; Justice B. B. Aliyu; Ebiowei Tobi; J. G. Abundaga; A. S. Umar;

A. M. Talba; A. M. Bayero; A. M. Lamido; and M. B. Idris.

The judges for the Federal High Court are Sunday Bassey Onu, Adefunmilola Adekemi Demi-Ajayi, Peter O. Lifu, Obiora Atuegwu Egwuata, Sa'adatu Ibrahim Mark, Mobolaji Olubukola Olajuwon, Aminu Bappa Aliyu, Tijjani Garba Ringim and Nkeonye Evelyn Maha

Those to serve as judges in the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory are Binta Mohammed, Modupe Osho-Adebiyi, Gaba Venchak Simon, Babangida Hassan, Akobi Iyabeni Anna, Samirah Umar Bature and Asmau Akanbi Yusuf.

According to the statement, the judges of the Court of Appeal would be sworn in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Walter Onnoghen, on Friday June 22 while judges of the FHC would be sworn in on Monday June 25.

Meanwhile, judges for the FCT High Count would be inaugurated on Tuesday, June 26 at the Supreme Court premises.


Suicide Bomber Attacks Borno Mosque, Kills Seven

A male suicide bomber has killed seven worshipers during morning prayer in a Mosque on Monday in Konduga Local… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 The Guardian. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.