4 July 2018

Nigeria: Tambuwal Sacks 25 Commissioners

Photo: Sokoto State Goverment
Sokoto State Governor Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal

Sokoto State Governor Aminu Tambuwal on Wednesday sacked all his commissioners and asked them to hand government property to the permanent secretaries in their respective ministries, in a move that foreshadows his planned move to switch to the Peoples Democratic Party.

Malam Abubakar Shekara, Director General Media and Public Affairs in Government House, announced the dissolution in a statement.

Shekara explained that the dissolution would pave way for "restructuring and re-strategising the cabinet for optimum efficiency and service delivery to the people of State".

The director-general said Gov. Tambuwal thanked the former commissioners for their dedication, sacrifice and loyalty to the administration.

According to him, the governor also expressed appreciation to the people for cooperating with and supporting the former commissioners towards achieving the success so far recorded.

"Gov. Tambuwal wishes the former Executive Council members success in their future endeavours," he added.

But political pundits said the governor's move may be connected with his plans to leave the All Progressives Congress and rejoin the Peoples Democratic Party.

Close watchers of the state said the governor does not enjoy the support of many commissioners, some of whom were nominated by former governor, Aliyu Wammako, who is now a senator, and who has vowed not to leave the All Progressives Congress.

List of Sokoto Commissioners

1. Ahmad Aliyu Sokoto Deputy Governor (Overseer of the Ministry of Works and Transport)

2. Umar Nagwari Tambuwal (Agriculture and Natural Resources)

3. Saidu Umar (Finance)

4. Muhammad Arzika Tureta (Water Resources)

5. Muhammad Jabbi Kilgori (Higher Education)

6. Abdullahi Maigwandu (Religious Affairs)

7. Surajo Gatawa (Science and Technology)

8. Abdulkadir Jeli Abubakar III (Home Affairs)

9. Tukur Alkali (Animal Health and Fisheries Development)

10. Mani Maishinku Katami (Rural Development)

11. Muhammad Bello Sifawa (Environment)

12. Muhammad Bello Abubakar Guiwa (Lands and Housing)

13. Sulaiman Usman SAN (Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice)

14. Isa Sadiq Achida (Information)

15. Aminu Bello Sokoto (Special Duties)

16. Bala Kokani (Budget and Economic Planning)

17. Bello Goronyo Esq (Energy)

18. Manir Muhammad Dan'Iya (Local Government and Community Development)

19. Kulu Abdullahi (Women and Children Affairs)

20. Balarabe Shehu Kakale (Health)

21. Musa Ausa Gidan Madi (Solid Minerals)

22. Aishatu Madawaki (Basic and Secondary Education)

23. Ahmed Barade Wamakko (Social Welfare)

24. Garba Yakubu Tsitse (Youth and Sports)

25. Bello Isa Ambarura (Commerce, Industries, Trade and Investment)


State Security Service Denies Tapping Teplephone Lines

The State Security Service (SSS, also called DSS) has denied tapping the telephone lines of Nigerians. Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 Vanguard. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.