21 July 2018

South Africa: ANC Gauteng Top 5 Announced

Around 1244 out of a total of 1256 voting ANC delegates from across the Gauteng province have elected the top leaders they want to take the province forward.

Premier David Makhura was elected as provincial chairperson, unopposed on Friday evening.

While Gauteng education MEC Panyaza Lesufi beat out Economic Development MEC Lebogang Maile in a fiercely contested battle to be the ANC in the province's number 2.

Jacob Khawe who had the backing of the ANC Youth League in the province was elected as provincial secretary and Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko as his deputy.

Another clash of the titans was over the position of treasurer, this saw current Ekurhuleni Mayor Mzwandile Masina going up against former City of Joburg mayor Parks Tau. ANC delegates elected Tau for post.

The newly elected officials of the Provincial Executive Committee of Gauteng #ANCGP pic.twitter.com/udsGqd2lzS-- Gauteng ANC (@GautengANC) July 21, 2018

The ANC in Gauteng will also spend part of its 3-day conference discussing the 2019 national elections and ways to unite the once deeply fractured political party.

1256 total number of delegates1244 voted12 did not vote 99% voter turn out Chairperson - Cde David Makhura Deputy Chair - Cde Panyaza LesufiProvince Secretary - Cde Jacob KhaweDeputy Provincial Secretary- Cde Nomantu Treasurer - Cde Parks Tau-- Gauteng ANC (@GautengANC) July 21, 2018

Makhura is set to close the conference on Sunday as its newly elected chairperson.

Source: News24

South Africa

Lucky Escape for Passengers Whose Car Plunged Into River On New Year's Eve

Five people had a lucky escape this evening after they drove off the side of a bridge along Witkoppen road in Fourways… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 News24Wire. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.