Africa: Davido, Wizkid Nominated For 2018 AFRIMA Awards

Michael Blackson, Pearl Thusi and Anita Erskine will host the fifth All Africa Music Awards.
31 August 2018

Nigerian artistes are a force to reckon with in the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA 2018).

The nomination list which has been made public has Davido, Wizkid, Olamide, Wande Coal, Kizz Daniel, Simi, Tiwa Savage, TuFace, Falz and other artistes battle with Diamond Platnumz, Nasty C, Shekhinah for awards in different categories.

Shekhinah and Congo’s Maître Gims have the highest nominations this year. Simi represents Nigeria with five nominations.

Organisers of the event also announced that four categories have been added: African DJ of the Year; Best African Dance/Choreography; African Lyricist/Rapper of the Year and Best African Act in Diaspora.

See the list below:

Artiste Of The Year

Tiwa Savage ft Wizkid & Spellz – Nigeria Ma Lo
    Starboy feat Wizkid, Ceeza Milli, Terri, Spotless – Nigeria Soco
    Davido – Nigeria FIA
    Betty G – Ethiopia Wegegta
    Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania Sikomi
    Kwesta feat Wale- South Africa Spiri
    Maitre Gims feat Vianney- DRC La Meme
    Nasty C – South Africa Jungle
    Saad Lamjarred – Morocco Casablanca

Song Of The Year

Daphne – My Lover
    Davido – FIA
    GuiltyBeatz, Mr. Eazi, Patapaa & Pappy Kojo – Akwaaba
    Kwesta – Wale
    Maitre Gims Ft. Vianney- La Meme
    Major Lazer & DJ Maphorisa Ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking & Jidenna – Particula
    Nasty C & Runtown – Said
    Saad Lamjarred – Casablanca
    Sauti Sol Ft. Patoranking – Melanin
    Starboy Ft. Terry, Ceeza Milli, Spotless – Soco
    Tiwa Savage Ft. Wizkid & Spellz – Ma Lo

Best African Collaboration

Tiwa Savage Ft Wizkid & Spellz – Nigeria (Ma Lo)
    Balti Ft Hamouda – Tunisia (Ya Lili)
    DJ Moh Green Ft. Magasco – Algeria/Cameroon (Por Favor)
    DJ Spinall & Wizkid – Nigeria (Nowo)
    Fally Ipupa Ft. KeBlack & Naza – DRC (Mannequin)
    GuiltyBeatz, Mr. Eazi, Patappa & Pappy Kojo – Ghana (Akwaaba)
    Maitre Gims Ft. Vianney – DRC/France (La Meme)
    Major Lazer & DJ Maphorisa Ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking, Jidenna – Particula
    Nasty C & Runtown – South Africa/Nigeria (Said)
    Revolution & Magic System – Cote d’Ivoire (Kelly)
    Sauti Sol & Patoranking – Kenya/Nigeria (Melanin)

Best African Rapper or Lyricist

Cassper Nyovest – South Africa (Ksazobalit)
    Falz – Nigeria (La Fete)
    Khaligraph Jones Ft. Petra – Kenya (Rider)
    Muslim – Aji M3aya (Morocco)
    Nadia Nakai Ft. Cassper Nyovest – South Africa (Naaa Meeaan)
    Nasty C – South Africa (Jungle)
    Rouge Ft. Bigstar – South Africa (Dololo)
    Shane Eagle – South Africa (Let it Flow)

The fifth edition of the AFRIMA comes up in Nove

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Guardian

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.