4 September 2018

Botswana: Bright to Announce Final Squad for Afcon

Gaborone — Zebras head coach David Bright is set to announce his final 20 man squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers today.

The Zebras will take on Angola at the Estadio 11 de Novembro in Luanda on Sunday.

The team will be desperate to get their Group I campaign back on track after losing 1-0 at home to Mauritania in their opening match last year March.

Botswana beat Angola 2-1 in the last meeting between the two sides during the 2018 COSAFA Castle Cup in Polokwane, South Africa. The Zebras goals were scored by Kabelo Seakanyeng and Onkabetse Makgantai.

Botswana Football Association (BFA) public relations officer Tumo Mpatane said in an interview that the national team started preparations for the Angolan encounter with a provisional squad of 30 players at Lekidi Football Centre on Monday.

"The coach will use the next three days from Monday to Wednesday to select his final squad of 20 players. He will then announce the final team on Wednesday morning," Mpatane said on Monday.

In the provisional squad, Bright has recalled Jwaneng Galaxy midfielder Lebogang Ditsele, who had not featured in the national team since the veteran coach returned for his fourth spell as Zebras coach in July last year. Ditsele used to be a regular in the starting XI under Bright's predecessor Peter Butler and has won more than 20 caps.

Bright has also named Township Rollers winger Motsholetsi Sikele in the provisional squad, but did not call up the recently crowned Premier League player of the season, Edwin Moalosi.

The 30 man provisional squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Kabelo Dambe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Mwampule Masule and Keeagile Kgosipula (Township Rollers), Bophelo Kealeboga (Orapa United)

Defenders: Lesego Keredilwe, Thabang Mosige (Orapa United), Simisani Mathumo, Thatayaone Ditlhokwe and Mosha Gaolaolwe (Township Rollers), Tshepo Maikano (Gaborone United), Tebogo Sosome (Jwaneng Galaxy), Lesenya Ramoraka (Highlands Park)

Midfielders: Ditsele, Thero Setsile and Karabo Phiri (Galaxy), Sikele, Gape Mohutsiwa, Lemponye Tshireletso and Segolame Boy (Rollers), Alphonse Modisaotsile, (GU), Thatayaone Kgamanyane and Kabelo Seakanyeng (Chippa United), Mpho Kgaswane (Baroka), Mogakolodi Ngele (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kobamelo Kebaikanye (Orapa)

Strikers: Onkabetse Makgantai (Baroka), Omaatla Kebatho and Jerome Ramatlhakwana (Orapa), Tebogo Sembowa (Galaxy), Tumisang Orebonye (Rollers).

Source : BOPA


Khama Enumerates Youth Opportunities

Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sports and Culture Development Mr Tshekedi Khama has encouraged youth leaders of… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 Botswana Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.