4 October 2018

Rwanda: Twenty Three Crews Register for Rwanda Mt. Gorilla Rally

A total of 23 rally drivers have confirmed they will compete in the 2018 Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally; according to race organisers, Rwanda Automobile Club (RAC).

The two-day event starts today and will be climaxing tomorrow.

The ARC title holder, Jean Claude Gakwaya and his navigator Jean Claude Mugabo have registered for the competition.

Fans will be pleased to see the return of former national champion Davite Giancarlo and Ruddy Canthanede while other big names include Eric Gakwaya, Din Imtiaz, and Jean Jean Giesen.

Burundian driver Rudy Cantanhede has also won the Mountain Gorilla Rally four times.

The racers will today be flagged off from Mwogo-Nyamata before racing in Gashyushya-Mwogo in the afternoon. Both are venues in Bugesera district the distance is 36.1 kilometers.

The last event of the day will be held at Amahoro Stadium with a brief 1.5km race at 3pm.

On Saturday, the 23 crews will run from Muhanda- Ruli (23.82km), the second stage will be from Ruli - Muhondo (27.13km), third stage will be from Nyange- Shyorongi (16.30km) where the rally will be closing at 5pm.

After the penultimate Rwanda Mountain Gorillas Rally, the national championship will end with Rallye des Mille Collines next month.


Kagame Reshuffles Cabinet, Women Take Up More Slots

* Women make up 50 per cent of the new cabinet, 13 out of 26. Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2018 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.