Africa: Salah, Mane, Aubameyang Are Finalists for CAF Player of the Year

Sadio Mané, Mohamed Salah and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.
2 January 2019

Voters in the 2018 CAF Awards have picked Egypt's Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang as the finalists for the ceremony, which holds next week in Dakar, Senegal.

Salah was last year's winner and he followed up his 2017 achievements with another fine 12 months, breaking the Premier League's 38-game season goals record, while leading Liverpool to the Champions League final, before ending the year on top of the league table.

Team-mate Mane - second in 2017 - has been similarly influential in the Reds' success, forming a devastating forward line along with Salah and Roberto Firmino, and netted in the Kiev final defeat to Real Madrid.

Salah and Mane both went to the World Cup, with Egypt and Senegal respectively, but neither made it past the group stage.

Meanwhile, 2015 Player of the Year Aubameyang hit the ground running in England after a big move from Borussia Dortmund.

The Gabon international scored 10 Premier League goals last term following his switch and, heading into yesterday's action, was tied with Salah and Harry Kane at the top of the scoring charts with 13 this season.

Salah and Mane were both on target as Liverpool thrashed Aubameyang's Arsenal 5-1 on Saturday.


More From: Guardian

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.