11 February 2019

Kenya: Nasa Reconstitutes House Business Committee as Sittings Resume Tuesday

Nairobi — The National Super Alliance (NASA) will be seeking to replace Vihiga MP Omboko Milemba with Nominated MP Godfrey Osotsi in the House Business Committee when the House resumes its sittings Tuesday.

The change affecting the duo that belong to Musalia Mudavadi's Amani National Congress (ANC) is the only one that has been highlighted in Tuesday's Order Paper to the committee that is mandated to set the daily agenda for the House when in session.

The Jubilee Party will be seeking to have the term of Amos Kimunya (Kipipiri), Joyce Akai Emanikor (Turkana County Woman Rep), Shadrack John Mose (Kitutu Masaba), Kawira Mwangaza (Meru County Woman Rep) extended as the MPs begin the Third Session of the 12th Parliament

ODM and Wiper have also re-submitted the names Mishi Mboko (Likoni) and Makali Mulu (Kitui Central) to represent them in the committee.

According to the House rules, the committee's automatic members include the Speaker Justin Muturi, the Majority and Minority Leaders Aden Duale (Garissa Township) and John Mbadi (Suba South), the Majority and Minority Whips Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East) and Junet Mohammed (Suna East).

Without the committee that is chaired by the Speaker, the House cannot transact any business.

A rejection of the Motion to set up the 12 member House Business Committee will lead to the adjournment of the National Assembly for six months when it can be re-introduced for debate.


Search For Missing Lamu Boat Crew Enters Day Two

The search for the two crew members who were reported missing after a cargo dhow they were travelling in from Lamu's… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2019 Capital FM. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.