Nigeria: Saraki Loses Senate Seat

Bukola Saraki.
24 February 2019

Senate President Bukola Saraki has lost Kwara Central Senatorial Seat to the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Dr. Yahaya Oloriegbe.

In the latest result announced by the INEC collation officer on Sunday night, Saraki polled 30,075 votes against Oloriegbe's 51,531 votes in Ilorin West local government area, the last of the four local government results announced.

The APC candidate defeated the Senate President in all the four local governments in Kwara Central senatorial district.

In Ilorin South Local Government, Oloriegbe polled 26,331 votes while Saraki polled 13,031votes.

In Asa local government area, APC scored 15,932 votes while PDP got 11,252.

The election result for Ilorin East local government council declared by the INEC collation officer, Professor Mufutau Ijaya, showed that APC polled 30,014 votes while PDP got 14,654 votes.

More From: This Day

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.