Nigeria: Senate President Saraki Loses Senatorial Seat

Nigerian Senate President Bukola Saraki
24 February 2019

The incumbent senate president, Dr Bukola Saraki who represented People Democratic Party (PDP) in the last Saturday National Assembly election has lost his seat to former majority leader in the state assembly Dr Ibrahim Oloriegbe Of All Progressives Congress (APC)

The result was officially announced at Independence National Electoral Commission (INEC) office located at Mandate area, Adewole Ilorin by returning officer for kwara Central Senatorial Election Professor Olawole Olatunbosun from University Of Ilorin.

How APC cleared 3 senatorial districts, 3 reps in Ekiti

APC candidate won all the four local government that made up of Kwara Central Senatorial district, namely Ilorin west, Ilorin East, Ilorin south and Asa with the following scores.

APC 123,808 and

PDP 68,994.

The break down:

Ilorin west

APC 51,531

PDP 30,075

Ilorin East

APC 30,014

PDP 14,654

Ilorin South

APC 26,331

PDP 13,013


APC 15932

PDP 11252

More From: Vanguard

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.