South Africa: Matlou to Captain Banyana Banyana Against Finland As She Reaches 150 Caps

Banyana Banyana defender Noko Matlou will lead the squad as captain against Finland this morning (Wednesday, 6 March 2019) in the battle for 9thand 10thposition in the last match of the 2019 Cyprus Women's Cup.

Matlou will be making her 150thappearance for South Africa when Banyana Banyana face the Europeans for the second time in the tournament.

The clash takes place at 11h00 at the Tassos Markos Stadium in Paralimni.

Matlou is one of the six changes made by head coach Desiree Ellis to the squad that lost 2-1 to the Czech Republic the last match of Group A.

She is the second highest capped player in the country after captain Janine van Wyk, who is on 164 caps.

Matlou made her Banyana Banyana debut in 2007 - she was crowned CAF Woman Player of the Year in 2008 - the first South African to win the award, before being followed by striker Thembi Kgatlana earlier this year.

Matlou has scored 64 goals for South Africa.

The defender takes the place of Van Wyk, who has been rested for the Finland fixture, and will play alongside Bambanani Mbane at central defence.

In goals, Kaylin Swart returns in place of Andile Dlamini.

Lebo Ramalepe retains her place at right back, becoming the only player in the squad to have started all four matches in the tournament.

Nothando Vilakazi also returns to the starting line-up and replaces Leandra Smeda at left back.

Mamello Makhabane, who scored in the previous match, keeps her place in the heart of the midfield and will partner Molatelo Sebata who gets her first start in the competition. Sebata replaces vice captain Refiloe Jane.

Kholosa Biyana continues in her defensive midfield role, with Busisiwe Ndimeni taking the place of Linda Motlhalo, while Karabo Dhlamini starts on the wing ahead of Rhoda Mulaudzi who is out injured.

Amanda Mthandi will play upfront.

This is how they will line up:

South Africa vs Finland (6 March 2019 - Cyprus)

Kaylin Swart (GK), Lebohang Ramalepe, Nothando Vilakazi, Bambanani Mbane, Noko Matlou(c), Busisiwe Ndimeni, Karabo Dhlamini, Molatelo Sebata, Mamello Makhabane, Kholosa Biyana, Amanda Mthandi


Andile Dlamini (GK), Victoria Muroa (GK), Janine van Wyk, Leandra Smeda, Tiisetso Makhubela, Linda Motlhalo, , Jermaine Seoposenwe, Refiloe Jane, Thembi Kgatlana, Nompumelelo Nyandeni

Not in Match-Day squad:

Koketso Tlailane, Rhoda Mulaudzi (injured)

Coach: Desiree Ellis

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: SAFA

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 150 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.