22 March 2019

Nigeria: Acting CJN Swears-in More Tribunal Members

Abuja — The Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad, has sworn in the last batch of justices that would adjudicate in matters that are expected to emanate from the conduct of the 2019 general elections.

According to a statement by the Director, Press and Information, Supreme Court of Nigeria, Dr Festus Akande, the members who were sworn in Thursday in Abuja, were admonished to be of good character and endeavor to live above board, "as all eyes are on them with a view to seeing them dispense justice without a tinge of partiality or favoritism."

Justice Muhammad, however, harped on the sacred nature of the oath they had just taken, stressing that it has become a bond between them and their creator, as no room would be given for excuses or any performance below approved standards.

The statement said the 13 new tribunal members were thoroughly examined and chosen from the numerous judges in the country who are equally eminently qualified for the task.

Justice Muhammad, accordingly, charged them to protect themselves and the dignity that the Almighty God has selectively given to them to serve the country at this enviable but challenging level.

The members include, Justices A.O. Onovo, R.O. Odugu, S.B. Belgore, T.A.O. Oyekan-Abullai, A.J. Coker, and E.I. Oritsejafor.

Others are Justices M.C. Okoh, O.S. Olusanya, C.A. Ononeze-Madu, P.U. Nnodum and J.C.L. Okibe.

Meanwhile, two members could not attend the ceremony. They are Justices I.O. Kasali and M.O. Obadina.


Buhari Travels to UK On 'Private Visit'

President Muhammadu Buhari is travelling to the United Kingdom on a private visit, the Nigerian presidency has said. Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2019 This Day. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.