Zimbabwe: Warriors to Face Egypt in Afcon 2019 Opener

Photo: CAF
AFCON - Which is the most exciting group?

The Zimbabwe Warriors will face hosts Egypt in the opening match of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations on June 21 according to the draw of the continental showpiece held next to the pyramids in Cairo, Egypt on Friday night.

Zimbabwe, who will be aiming to progress from the group stages for the first time in the country's history, were drawn in Group A alongside hosts Egypt, Uganda and Democratic Congo.

The draw means the Warriors will book another date with DR Congo, who they beat away before sharing the spoils at home during the qualification phase of the competition.

Zimbabwe was heavily represented at the 2019 AFCON draw with head coach Sunday Chidzambwa, team manager Wellington Mpandare, ZIFA president Felton Kamambo and ZIFA board member Chamu Chiwanza all in attendance.

Defending champions Cameroon are in Group F with Ghana, Benin and Guinea-Bissau while neighbours South Africa have been drawn in Group D alongside Morocco, Ivory Coast and Namibia.

Some of Africa's football legends as Yaya Toure (Africa's best player 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2011), Rigobert Song, El Hadji Diouf, Mustapha Hadji, Honsy Abd Rabo among others graced the event.

CAF President Ahmed Ahmed, Egypt's prime minister Mostafa Boubaly, Egypt FA supremo Hassan Abo also graced the draws ceremony.

For the first time, 24 countries will be competing at arguably the best footballing fiesta on the African continent.

Cameroon are defending champions, having triumphed during the last event hosted by Gabon in 2017.

Egypt will use six stadia to host this biennial championship.

Cairo International Stadium, Air Force Stadium, Port Said Stadium, Ismailia Stadium, Suez Sport Stadium and Alexandria Stadium will be used.

2019 AFCON Draw in full

Group A: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: New Zimbabwe

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.