Nigeria: Wike Suspends 12 Council Chairmen

Port Harcourt — Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike has notified the state House of Assembly of the suspension of 12 chairmen of local government areas for failing to attend a certain state function.

The suspension was conveyed in a letter to Speaker of the House titled: Notice of Suspension of the Chairmen of Twelve Local Government Councils, citing section 64 (3) of the Rivers State Local Government Law No. 5 of 2018."I hereby serve you notice of the suspension of twelve local government council chairmen for security reasons for approval and ratification," the letter reads.

They are: Philemon Kingolo (Okrika); Tom Aliezi (Emohua); Daniel E.O. Daniel (Abua/Odual); Tony Phimoore (Degema); Lahteh Loolo (Khana) and Paul Kobani (Gokana).Others are, Ben Eke (Ahoada East); Samuel Nwanosike (Ikwerre); Philip Okparaji (Ikwerre); Paul L. Paul (Andoni); Christian Nwaiwu (Omuma) and Erasmus Victor (Ogu/Bolo).

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Guardian

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 150 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.