14 May 2019

Kenya: Migne Names Provisional Stars Squad - What They Said

Photo: Chris Omollo/Nairobi News
Harambee Stars coach Sebastien Migne.

Harambee Stars head coach on Tuesday stuck to most of his guns that did duty for him in the qualifying process as the Frenchman named the provisional squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

Harambee Stars will head to France and camp for three weeks, compete in two friendlies against Madagascar and Gambia in readiness for the Cup of Nations where they are in Pool C alongside Senegal, Algeria and Tanzania. The tourney runs from June 21-July 19 in Egypt.

Nation Sport takes a look at the reactions to his squad:

"Why do we have 2 goalkeepers from one team in that Harambee Stars provisional squad for AFCON and CHAN? Has this ever happened anywhere?" - local football fan Mwawana Muema on Twitter.

"No surprises for me in that Harambee Stars Afcon provisional squad. As usual 70% those who deserve it, 30% project... I won't mention names!! #harambeestars #AFCON2019" - Luke OJ on Twitter.

"All the best to the players selected to represent Kenya. I believe in Migne and I believe the team will perform well." - Kalvin Kepha also on Twitter.

"(Two) 2 of the 3 (three) goalkeepers have never played for Harambee Stars, I might be wrong though. Maybe Migne should have included an experienced head like Oluoch?" - Ombogo on Twitter.

"Nothing wrong with the team, the players called upon are good. So if your favourite player is not in the squad keep calm and wish Harambee Stars best of luck." Werah, a local football enthusiast, tweeted after the squad was named.

Provisional Squad:

Goalkeepers: Patrick Matasi (St. Georges, Ethiopia), Faruk Shikhalo (Bandari FC, Kenya), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)

Defenders: Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC-Zambia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Abud Omar (Sepsi Sfântu-Romania), David Owino (Zesco United-Zambia), Bernard Ochieng (Vihiga United-Kenya), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United-South Africa), Erick Ouma (Vasalund IF-Sweden), Joseph Okumu

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs-England), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United-Zambia), Eric Johanna (IF Bromma-Sweden), Ismael Gonzales (UD Las Palmas-Spain), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia-Kenya), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka FC-Kenya), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge-Belgium), Christopher Mbamba (Oskarshamns AIK-Sweden), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Clifton Miheso (Portugal)

Forwards: Paul Were (AFC Leopards-Kenya), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe-China), Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol-Japan), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz-Kenya), John Avire (Sofapaka), Masud Juma (Libya), Ochieng Ovella (IF Vasalund, Sweden)

More on This

Sonko Promises Harambee Stars Sh20 Million If They Reach Afcon Quarters

Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko has promised to reward the Kenyan national football team with Sh20 million, if they manage… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2019 The Nation. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.