South Africa: Members of Parliament Arrive At Parliament Ahead of Their Swearing in As Legislators

press release

Incoming Members of the National Assembly and Delegates of the National Council of Provinces are expected to start arriving at Parliament from Monday, 20 May, ahead of their swearing in as Legislators on Wednesday and Thursday.

The designated public representatives will also undergo a registration and on-boarding process.

This follows Parliament receiving the lists of designated members of the National Assembly from Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng on 15 May.

The 400 designated National Assembly members are expected to register from Monday, 20 May. A rehearsal on the proceedings of the First Sitting of the National Assembly is scheduled for designated members. Further to that, Members will be briefed on inauguration arrangements and related activities.

On Wednesday morning, the swearing-in takes place in the National Assembly Chamber and will be presided over by the Chief Justice. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker will also be elected in the morning session. The election of the President of the Republic takes place in the afternoon.

Permanent Delegates of the National Council of Provinces are expected to register on the morning of 21 May. They will also go through a simulation briefing on proceedings of the First Sitting of the National Council of Provinces Chamber on Wednesday 22 May.

On Thursday 23 May designated members of the National Council of Provinces will be sworn-in by the Chief Justice. The Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Chief Whip and House Chairpersons will also be elected at this sitting.

Returning designated members will be accommodated in the same houses at parliamentary villages where they previously stayed.

An on-boarding orientation programme is also scheduled to take place, and it will cover a range of issues related to MPs Constitutional responsibilities.

Parliament has ensured that all systems are in place for the establishment of the 6th Democratic Parliament.

Issued by: Parliament of South Africa

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Govt of SA

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.