23 May 2019

Kenya: Why These Eight Counties Have Been Listed as 'Hotspots' for Hate Speech


Kiambu, Kilifi, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo Marakwet, Baringo, Nakuru, Nyeri and Kakamega have been identified as potential hate speech hotspots.

This is according to the National Cohesion Integration Commission, who released the list of the eight counties, stating that the recent rallies in these counties makes them prone to hate speech.


"We are not saying hate speech has taken place there but they are the potential hotspots because of numerous rallies going on over the weekends," said NCIC Chief Executive Officer Hassan Mohamed.

To enhance monitoring of hate and incitement to violence, the commission has issued additional 110 audio recorders and eight camcorders to security officers from the eight counties.


Once recorded, experts will transcribe the audios.

NCIC said that the Constitution recognizes and encourages freedom of speech, however, this right does not extend to incitement of violence, hate speech, propaganda for war or advocacy of hatred.

"Not all speech or expression with racial or ethnic perspectives amounts to hate speech," Mohamed said.


Foreign Interests Blamed in Escalating Row With Somalia

The Kenyan government is making fresh efforts to negotiate with Somalia as a way of ending the maritime conflict between… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

Copyright © 2019 Nairobi News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.