23 June 2019

South Africa: CRL Commissioners Appointed for Five-Year Term

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed 13 members to the Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities for a period of five years.

The appointment was made in terms of section 9(1) read with 13(1) of the Commission Act, 2002 (Act No 19 of 2002).

The President further appointed, in terms of section 12 of the Act, Luka Mosoma and Sylvia Pheto as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Commission respectively.

The others appointed members of the Commission are:

-Sheila Khama

-Tsholofelo Mosala

-Sicelo Dlamini

-Oscarine Nokuzola Mndende

-Nomalanga Tyamzashe

-Ramokone Tryphina Kgatla

-Muneer Abduroaf

-Richard Botha

-Pitika Ntuli

-Renier Schoeman

-Mandla Langa

The President has congratulated the Commissioners and wished them well "in this critical role in ensuring social transformation and nation-building for the attainment of a truly united South African nation", said the Presidency in statement.

South Africa

Prominent South African Aids Scientist Inducted Into Royal Society

Professor Salim Abdool Karim, South Africa's leading Aids researcher and scientist has been elected as a fellow of the… Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: SAnews.gov.za

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.