21 June 2019

South Africa: President Cyril Ramaphosa Announces New Appointments to Supreme Court of Appeal

press release

President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced the appointment of five judges to the Supreme Court of Appeal.

The appointments follows recommendations made by the Judicial Service Commission and are in line with prescripts of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa.

In terms of the section 174 (6) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, the following judges have been appointed:

1) Justice Daniel Vuminkosi Dlodlo

2) Justice Caroline Elizabeth Heaton Nicholls

3) Justice Fikile Eunice Mokgohloa

4) Justice Yvonne Thokozile Mbatha

5) Justice Clive Michael Plasket

The President has also in terms of section 174(3) of the Constitution appointed the Justice Xola Mlungisi Petse as Deputy Judge President of the Supreme Court of Appeal.

The President has wished the justices well in their new positions.

"These appointments - of which three are women, reflect government's commitment to the ongoing transformation of the Bench," President Ramaphosa said.

Issued by: The Presidency

South Africa

Showmax Hits Nigerian Homes

It seems like Netflix will continue its fight for dominance with Showmax, as the latter launches in Nigeria. Read more »

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Govt of SA

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.