Sudan: Transitional Period Documents Signed Finally

Sudanese pro-democracy supporters celebrate a the signing of a final power-sharing pact with the ruling military council on Aug 17, 2019, in Khartoum.

Khartoum — The final signing of the transitional period's documents took place Saturday at the Friendship Hall between the Transitional Military Council (TMC) and the Forces of the Declaration of Freedom and Change.

The documents were signed by the TMC Deputy Chairman, Lt. Gen. Mohamed Hamdan Daglo, for the TMC and Ahmed Rabie for the Forces of the Declaration of Freedom and Change.

The agreement was also signed by the Ethiopian Prime Minister, Abiy Ahmed, the African Union Commissioner, Moussa Faki, the Egyptian Prime Minister, Dr. Mustafa Madbouli, the Foreign Minister of Finland on behalf of the European Union and the Secretary General of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, Yousif bin Ahmed Al-Uthaimen, as witnesses.

The documents' signing was attended by the TMC Chairman, Lt. Gen. Abdul-Fattah Al-Burhan, the Chadian President, Idris Deby, the President of South Sudan State, Salva Kiir, the Kenyan President, Uhuru Kenyatta, and the President of the Central African Republic, Faustin-Archange Touadéra.

More From: SNA

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.