Nigeria: Kwara Assembly Sacks Boards of Three Agencies

21 August 2019

Ilorin — The Kwara State House of Assembly, yesterday, dissolved three statutory commissions: the Kwara State Civil Service Commission (KSCSC), Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASElC) and the Kwara State Assembly Service Commission (KSASC) inaugurated by the last administration.

The dissolution followed a request by Gov. AbdulRahman AbdulRasaq in three separate messages to the house which were read by the Speaker, Danladi Yakubu-Salihu.

The governor said he relied on Section 201 Sub-Sections 1 and 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

He said the chairmen and members of the commissions had been given fair hearing but were found incapable of discharging their statutory functions as a result of gross misconduct.

The speaker, therefore, directed the Clerk of the House, Hajia Halimah Kperogi, to conduct voting for members on the request of the governor.

The voting indicated that the required two-third majority supported the removal of the chairmen and members of the three commissions.

It would be recalled that the dissolved commissions were inaugurated by former Gov. Abdul Fatah Ahmed towards the end of his tenure in May.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Daily Trust

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.