Kenya: Uhuru Appoints Egerton Don to Head TSC Selection Panel

20 September 2019

The replacement of three commissioners at the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has officially kicked off after President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed a selection panel.

The nine-member panel will be chaired by Egerton University Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration and Finance), Prof John Munene Njenga.

Other members of the selection panel are Solicitor General Kennedy Ogeto, Prof Nura Mohamed, Hellen Ambasa, Francis Nganga, Dr Margaret Kirai, Peter Ndoro of the Kenya Private Schools Association and Mount Kenya University Vice-chancellor Stanley Waudo.


Commissioners Cleophas Tirop, Salome Gichura and Saadia Abdi Kontoma exited the TSC after their six-year term ended this year.

All commissioners serve for a six-year non-renewable term.

The term of the commission's secretary and Chief Executive Officer Nancy Macharia will also end next year.

She will, however, still be eligible for a second term of five years.


TSC currently has six commissioners. They are Lydia Nzomo, Beatrice Adu, Mbarak Twahir, Kinoti Imanyara, Tache Gollo and Albert Ekirapa.

Mr Tirop, who was appointed in April 2013, retired earlier this year while Gichura and Kontoma left last month.

Section 8(1) of the TSC Act requires that a vacancy that arises in the commission be declared through a gazette notice.

A panel is then constituted to select suitable candidates for appointment.

The Act says the chairperson of the panel should be appointed by the President.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.