Rwanda: Patriots Complete Remarkable Comeback to Retain League Title

22 September 2019

Patriots were Saturday night crowned as the 2018/2019 champions of the Bank of Kigali Basketball National League after beating Rwanda Energy Group (REG) in a thrilling 65-59 Game 7 victory at Kigali Arena.

The Patriots staved off elimination twice to force Game 7 in the playoffs finals after REG went up 3-1. With the title defence success, Patriots confirmed their spot in the inaugural Basketball Africa League (BAL) next year.

Arguably the most dominant side in local basketball since joining the league in 2014, Saturday's improbable triumph marked the club's third league title in the last four years as they became the first team to win the championship back-to-back since Espoir between 2012 and 2015.

Just like he had been throughout the playoffs finals, with his side rallying from a 3-1 deficit to cap off the season in style, Dieudonne Ndizeye was fantastic in Game 7, with the small forward posting a game-high 22 points and making 9 rebounds.

"What we have just accomplished is remarkable," said Ndizeye.

"We were counted off (in the finals) at some point, but we refused to give up. It is that never-die spirit that pulled us through."

Skipper Aristide Mugabe and Kenya-born power forward Michael Makiadi contributed 9 points each, while Steven Hagumintwari added 8 points, and made 9 rebounds.

BREAKING: Patriots have completed a remarkable comeback to win the 2018/2019 @BankofKigali Basketball National League title after beating REG 65-59 in Game 7 of the playoffs finals.

REG led the series 3-1 after the first four games. #BKBNLPLAYOFFS

-- The New Times (Rwanda) (@NewTimesRwanda) September 21, 2019

Rwanda international Elie Kaje scored 13 points for REG, whilst guard Benjamin Mukengerwa added 12 points.

Patriots will now represent the country the newly established continental club competition - Basketball Africa League - whose semi-finals and the final will be held at the Kigali Arena.

The highly anticipated tournament is a result of partnership between the world basketball governing body (FIBA) and the NBA.

Past champions since 2010

2018: Patriots

2017: REG

2016: Patriots

2015: Espoir

2014: Espoir

2013: Espoir

2012: Espoir

2011: Kigali Basketball Club

2010: APR


Playoffs finals (Game 7)

Patriots 65-59 REG

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: New Times

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.