Kenya: Kipchoge, Cheruiyot Nominated for IAAF Award

From left to right - World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge and World 1500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot.
14 October 2019

World marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge and World 1500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot have been nominated for the IAAF Male Athlete of the Year award.

Kipchoge and Cheruiyot are part of 11 nominees released by world athletics governing body, IAAF, for the annual award which will be decided on November 23 in Monaco, France.

Kipchoge, who won last year's award after setting the world record in Berlin, is a huge favourite to retain the gong following his impressive time of 1:59:40 that saw him break the two-hour marathon barrier on Saturday in Vienna, Austria. In addition, he won the London Marathon in April a course record time of 2:02:37.

On the other hand, Cheruiyot led from gun to tape to claim 1500m gold during the recently concluded World Championships in Doha, Qatar. He also bagged 1500m Diamond League title besides winning 10 of his 11 outdoor races across all distances.

The Kenyan pair will face stiff competition from US trio of World 800m champion Donavan Brazier, World 100m champion Christian Coleman and World 200m champion Noah Lyles.

While Brazier and Lyles won Diamond League titles in their respective races, Coleman is the fastest man over 100m this year.

Other nominees are Ugandan World 10000m champion Joshua Cheptegei, Bahrain's World 400m champion Steven Gardiner, US field stars Sam Kendricks and Christian Taylor, Sweden's World discuss champion Daniel Stahl and Norway's World 400m hurdles champion Karsten Warholm.


A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via IAAF's social media platforms.

Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram this week; a 'like' on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50 percent of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25 percent of the final result.

Voting for the Male World Athlete of the Year closes on November 4. At the conclusion of the voting process, five men and five women finalists will be announced by IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019 on November 23.

Additional reporting by IAAF

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.