Somalia: Puntland Parliament Picks New Speaker After Ousting the Former

Puntland Parliament on Thursday elected Abdirashid Yousuf Jibril as a new speaker.

Three candidates, Abdirashid Yousuf Jibril, Abdijamal Osman Mohamed, and Ali Ahmed Dhahar took part in the election.

Abdirashid received 46 votes of the MPs in the round three of the voting, while his rival Abdijamal Osman Mohamed saved 17 votes, the election commission announced.

In a brief speech after the victory, he promised to be a leader that has a compromise and tolerance, working closely with the various institutions of the government.

Last week, Puntland Parliament kicked out the former speaker Abdihakin Dhoobo-daareed, who had been in office less than a year.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Shabelle

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.