Western Sahara: Moroccan Authorities Prevent Basque MPs From Entering Occupied Western Sahara

El-Aaiun (Occupied Territories) — The Moroccan authorities on Sunday prevented a group of Basque parliamentarians from entering the occupied capital of Western Sahara, El-Aaiun, and forced them to return on board the plane that took them from the Canary Islands.

The parliamentary group comprises Carmelo Barrio (PP), Josu Estarrona (EH Bildu), Íñigo Martínez (Elkarrekin Podemos) and Eva Juez (PNV).

They were to hold a series of meetings with Sahrawi associations and activists in order to find out about the reality of the human rights situation in the occupied territories of Western Sahara and to break the blackout practiced by the Moroccan occupation.

It is worth mentioning that since its occupation of parts of Western Sahara, Morocco has closed the occupied territory to foreign missions and delegations in an attempt to obliterate its crimes and violations of the rights of the Sahrawi people.

See What Everyone is Watching

Top Headlines: Western Sahara

More From: SPS

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.