South Africa: Three Blitzboks Crack Nod for Cape Town Dream Team

16 December 2019

Cape Town — Three Blitzboks have cracked the nod for the Cape Town Sevens Dream Team.

The Springbok Sevens side lost 7-5 to New Zealand in the Cup final but there was some consolation for JC Pretorius , Rosko Specman and Ruhan Nel whose efforts were recognised by organisers.

The Blitzboks were without Nel in the final as the midfielder picked up a hand injury in their 21-14 semi-final win against France.

But it was enough for him to earn Dream Team honours as he finished as South Africa's top try-scorer at this weekend's event, crossing the whitewash five times.

The rest of the Dream Team comprises Kenya's Alvin Otieno , New Zealand's Scott Curry , Ireland's Jordan Conroy and France's Jean-Pascal Barraque .

The @HSBC_Sport Dream Team for the men's competition at the #CapeTown7s #HSBC7s Who would have made your seven?

-- World Rugby Sevens (@WorldRugby7s) December 15, 2019The Blitzboks, who beat the All Blacks Sevens 15-0 in the Dubai final last weekend, are now level at the top of the standings with the Kiwis on 41 points apiece.

STANDINGS ??Women's #HSBC7s after 3 of 8 rounds??Men's standings after 2 of 10 rounds #HSBC7s

-- World Rugby Sevens (@WorldRugby7s) December 15, 2019

- Compiled by Herman Mostert

Source: Sport24

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: News24Wire

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.