Nigeria: 9 Imo Lawmakers Defect to APC

22 January 2020

Owerri — A week after Senator Hope Uzodinma was made the governor of Imo State, nine members of the State House of Assembly have joined the new ruling party in the state, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Supreme Court had last week nullified the election of Emeka Ihedioha of the PDP and declared Uzodinma, the governor of the state. Uzodinma, a former lawmaker was sworn in on Wednesday.

Our correspondent reports that four of the nine lawmakers who joined the APC are from Action Alliance (AA), three from the PDP and two from the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA). With the defection, the APC now has 11 out of the 27 members' assembly.

Those who defected from AA to APC are; Arthur Egwim (Ideato North), Obinna Okwara (Nkwere), Johnson Duru (Ideato South) and Ngozi Obiefule (Isu). The lawmakers who crossed from PDP to APC are Amarachi Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele),Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe) and Okoro Syracuse (Ohaji Egbema). From APGA, Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) and Ekene Nnodumele (Orsu) joined the APC.

The Speaker, Chiji Collins announced the defection of the nine lawmakers during plenary yesterday.

Daily Trust reports that Collins who was formally of APGA and defected to PDP has not announced his intention to join the new ruling party in the state.

Also at the sitting yesterday, Deputy Speaker, Okey Onyekanma resigned.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Daily Trust

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.