Nigeria: By-Elections - INEC Rules Our Candidate Substitution, Swears in 2 New RECs

22 January 2020

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says there will be no substitution of candidates in the 22 by-elections holding this Saturday.

INEC Chairman Prof. Mahmood Yakubu said this yesterday in Abuja while swearing-in two new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) recently appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari and confirmed by the Senate.

The two RECs are Dr. Alalibo Sinikiem Johnson from Bayelsa State and Umar Mukhtar Gajiram from Borno State.

Daily Trust reports that Dr. Johnson from Bayelsa State is replacing the former REC of Cross River State, Mr. Frankland Briyai, who resigned to contest for the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primaries in Bayelsa State, while Mr. Gajiram replaces the former REC of Taraba State, Alhaji Baba Yusuf who died in September 2019.

According to Yakubu, the only exempted constituency for the substitution of candidates is Gamawa Federal Constituency in Bauchi State and Agwara State Constituency in Niger State where elections will be held without the candidates and parties that were declared winners in the general election.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Daily Trust

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.