Tanzania: President Slots Six Into Key Positions

PRESIDENT John Magufuli has appointed four board chairpersons, an Executive Secretary of the Tanzania National Business Council (TNBC) and a Water Institute (WI) Rector, effective last Monday.

According to a statement issued on Tuesday by the Directorate of Presidential Communications in Dar es Salaam, the president re-appointed Prof Maurice Mbago as Chair of the Education Authority of Tanzania Board.

Dr Masatu Chiguna has been appointed Tanzania Airports Authority (TAA) Board chairman, replacing Prof Ninatubu Lema whose appointment was revoked in December 2018.

The Shipping Services Company (MSCL) Board of Directors will be led by Prof Zacharia Mganilwa, who doubles as the Rector of the National Institute of Transport (NIT).

The Head of State also picked Ms Mariam Nhumbi as the chairperson of the Tanzania Sisal Board.

At the same time, President Magufuli appointed Dr Godwill Wanga to serve as the Executive Secretary of the Tanzania National Business Council (TNBC).

Before the appointment, Dr Wanga was a senior lecturer at the University of Dar es Salaam.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Daily News

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.