Nigeria: Burna Boy Loses Best International Act At 2020 Brit Awards

Burna Boy in his On The Low video
20 February 2020

Grammy-nominated musician, Burna Boy, lost out on the much-coveted Best International Act at the 40th edition of the BRIT awards 2020 to American rapper, Tyler The Creator.

This may be hard on him after just losing another major international award. The singer, last month, was beaten to the award for Best World Music by Angelique Kidjo at the 2020 Oscars Grammy Awards.

The 2020 Brit Awards was held on 18 February 2020 at the O2 Arena in London. On 27 November 2019, Jack Whitehall was announced as the host for the third year running.

Nominations were led by British rapper of Nigerian descent, Dave, and singer, Lewis Capaldi.

As with previous years, the entire two-hour show was broadcast live on British TV and streamed globally on YouTube, monitored by PREMIUM TIMES.

This year also saw a welcomed reduction in the number of celebrities and sports stars giving out awards, with a steady stream of music acts such as Niall Horan and Paloma Faith, instead, taking their place on the podium.

The British Phonographic Industry has also "revamped" the award categories for this year's ceremony.

Many award categories have been renamed and repealed, cutting down the number of awards from thirteen to nine. The Brit Awards will no longer be supporting fan voting and will aim to start "giving artists' complete artistic control over their performances".

Abolished categories

International Group Award

Best British Video Award

Outstanding Contribution to Music Award and

Global Success Award

Renamed categories

Best New Artist (previously British Breakthrough Act)

Rising Star Award (previously Critics’ Choice Award) and

Song of the Year (previously British Single of the Year)

Below is a full list of categories and winners (in bold) at the 2020 Brits Awards:

Best album

Dave – Psychodrama -Winner

Stormzy – Heavy Is The Head

Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka

Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired To A Hellish Extent

Harry Styles – Fine Line

Best British female

Mabel -Winner

Freya Ridings

FKA Twigs

Charli XCX


Best British male


Harry Styles

Lewis Capaldi


Michael Kiwanuka

Best British group


Bring Me The Horizon

D-Block Europe



Best new artist

Lewis Capaldi-Winner



Sam Fender


Best song

Lewis Capaldi – Someone You Loved-Winner

Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber – I Don’t Care

Mabel – Don’t Call Me Up

Calvin Harris ft Rag ‘N’ Bone Man – Giant

Dave ft Burna Boy – Locationn

Mark Ronson ft Miley Cyrus – Nothing Breaks Like A Heart

AJ Tracey – Ladbroke Grove

Tom Walker – Just You And I

Sam Smith ft Normani – Dancing With A Stranger

Stormzy – Vossi Bop

International female

Billie Eilish-Winner

Ariana Grande

Camila Cabello

Lana Del Rey


International male

Tyler, The Creator-Winner

Bruce Springsteen

Burna Boy

Dermot Kennedy

Post Malone

Rising star award


Joy Crookes


More From: Premium Times

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.