Kenya: 11 Northeastern MPs Held Over Unauthorised Trip to Somalia

Kenya's President Uhuru Kenyatta (right) welcomes his Somalia counterpart Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed at State House (file photo).

Police on Sunday held and questioned 11 MPs from the Northeastern region on allegations that they took a trip to Somalia without authorisation.

Reports indicated that they travelled for an unknown mission without the permission of the Foreign Affairs ministry or National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi.

Sunday saw police wait for the lawmakers at Wilson Airport in Nairobi before moving to the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA).

Police took the MPs for questioning soon after they landed.

According to a list by Airport Commandant Titus Karuri, six of the parliamentarians are from Mandera, three from Wajir and two from Garissa.

They are Kullow Maalim (Banisa), Ahmed Kolosh (Wajir West), Ibrahim Abdi (Lafey), Rashid Kassim (Wajir East), Mohamed Hire (Lagdera), Omar Maalim (Mandera East), Bashir Abdullahi (Mandera North), Adan Haji (Mandera West),

Adan Ali sheikh (Mandera South), Mohamed Dahir (Dadaab) and Ahmed Bashane (Tarbaj).

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.