Kenya: Govt to Ban Inter-County Travel in Mombasa, Kilifi and Kwale Beginning Wednesday

Nairobi — Travel in and out of Mombasa, Kwale and Kilifi counties will be halted for an initial 21-day containment period beginning 7pm on Wednesday in measures to contain the spread of coronavirus in Kenya, President Uhuru Kenyatta announced on Monday.

The decision was arrived at following a National Security Council meeting held at State House, Nairobi.

The three coastal counties cumulatively account for 14 per cent ogf 158 cases reported in the country.

Movement in and out of Nairobi will be restricted effective 7pm on Monday, April 6 residents allowed to commute within the city between 5am and 7pm daily.

President Kenyatta said movement by rail, road or air will remain suspended as the county battles to contain coronavirus.

Nairobi accounts for 82 per cent of all reported COVID-19 cases.

See What Everyone is Watching

More From: Capital FM

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.