Malawi: Mutharika Appoints New MEC Team - Judge Kachale Is Chair, Retains Commissioners Mathanga and Kunje

President Peter Mutharika (file photo).

President Peter Mutharika has constituted a new commission for the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) with High Court judge Dr Chifundo Kachale appointed as its chairperson.

According to the statement signed by Chief Secretary to the Government Lloyd Muhara, the President appointed a seven-member commission including comprising four men and three women.

President Mutharika has retained Jean Mathanga and Angelina Kunje who were in the previous commission that was declared incompetent by the court and parliament for the botched 2019 elections.

In the appointment, President Mutharika has also brought back a former MEC commissioner lawyer Arthur Nanthuru.

Included in the new team is Malawi Electoral Support Network chairperson Steven Duwa, who is also Council of Non-Governmental Organisations in Malawi (Congoma) executive director.

Other commissioners nominated by main opposition Malawi Congress Party (MCP) are Dr Anthony Mukumbwa and Mrs Olivia Mchaju-Liwewe.

The appointments are with immediate effect.

More From: Nyasa Times

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.