Kenya: Police Disrupt Saba Saba Protests in the City

John Obonyo, a member of civil society group Haki Yetu, puts up a banner along Nyerere Road in Mombasa County during an exhibition to mark the Saba Saba movement's 30th anniversary.

Several protestors taking part in Saba Saba demonstrations across Nairobi on Tuesday morning were met with teargas and arrests by police.

Activists Editar Ochieng and Wilfred Olal of the Mathare Social Justice Centre were among arrested, with some being booked at police stations.

Prominent lawyer John Khaminwa, human rights activists George Kegoro and Florence Kanyua gathered at Kilimani Police Station seeking the release of the protesters.

In the city centre, groups marching with placards were met with heavy security presence.

A spot check by the Nation found increased presence of security officers, including police on horseback.

The protesters were dispersed by police but regrouped at the National Archives area.

Conveners of the protests said they were denied permission to hold demonstrations yet the Constitution only requires them to notify the police of their intention.

The protests took place as the movement marked its 30th anniversary.

July 7, 1990 was the day on which nationwide protests took place in a demand for multiparty democracy from the Moi regime.


The following are the protesters who were arrested, as listed at the police stations where they were taken.

Pangani Police station

  1. Wilfred Olal

Kayole Police station

  1. Leila Umar
  2. Edwin Nyangena
  3. Sally Muhonja
  4. Musili Defti
  5. Rachel Mbithe
  6. James Omondi
  7. John Kamau
  8. Halima Bakari 

Pangani Police station

  1. Kelvin Aroni
  2. Nicole Nandi
  3. Tobias Orao
  4. Collins Ochieng
  5. Floice Ochieka
  6. Isaac Amunga
  7. Dennis Orengo

Central Police station

  1. Alex Lani
  2. Susan Lumumba
  3. Athumani Salhina Saidi Kamau
  4. Lucy Wanjiru
  5. Selina

Kilimani Police Station

  1. Editar ochieng
  2. Vincent Odhiambo
  3. Frank Chacha
  4. Ruth Ochieng
  5. Rian Mercy
  6. Belinda Adhiambo
  7. Caren Akinyi
  8. Sharon Risper
  9. Angela Hope
  10. Caren Brandy
  11. Emily Akinyi
  12. Lavian Anyango
  13. Beryl Anyango
  14. Beatrice Adhiambo
  15. Millicent Atieno

Kayole Police station

  1. Leila Umar
  2. Edwin Nyangena
  3. Sally Muhonja
  4. Musili Defti
  5. Rachel Mbithe
  6. James Omondi

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.