Africa: US Policy Toward Africa - Eight Decades of Realpolitik by Herman J. Cohen

US Policy Toward Africa: Eight Decades of Realpolitik
book listing

"A concise and invaluable diplomatic history of US relations with Africa…. Few individuals have Cohen's experience and perspective."—Witney Schneidman, Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for African affairs

"Excellent…. No one interested in US relations with Africa should fail to read this lively account." —Ambassador David Passage, Former US Ambassador to Botswana

Click here to read this book's introduction.

Herman Cohen draws on both the documentary record and his years of on-the-ground experience to provide a uniquely comprehensive survey and interpretation of nearly eight decades of US policy toward Africa.

Tracing how this policy has evolved across successive administrations since 1942 (beginning with President Franklin D. Roosevelt's third term in office), Cohen illuminates the debates that have taken place at the highest levels of government; shows how policy toward Africa has been affected over the years by US relations with Europe, the Soviet Union, the Middle East, and most recently China; and points to the increasing reliance of Western economic interests on Africa's natural resources. His deeply informed narrative reveals the roles not only of circumstance and ideology, but also of personalities, in the formulation and implementation of US foreign policy.

Herman J. Cohen was a member of the US Foreign Service for thirty-eight years, posted to embassies in France, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. He was US ambassador to Senegal and The Gambia and served as assistant secretary of state for Africa under President George H. W. Bush.

Subsequently, he was senior adviser in the Africa region at the World Bank. He is now president of Cohen and Woods, an international consulting firm.


  • The United States and Africa: A Historical Perspective.
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt: 1941–1945.
  • Harry S. Truman: 1945–1953.
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower: 1953–1961.
  • John F. Kennedy: 1961–1963.
  • Lyndon B. Johnson: 1963–1969.
  • Richard M. Nixon: 1969–1974.
  • Gerald Ford: 1974–1977.
  • Jimmy Carter: 1977–1981.
  • Ronald Reagan: 1981–1989.
  • George H. W. Bush: 1989–1993.
  • William J. Clinton: 1993–2001.
  • George W. Bush: 2001–2009.
  • Barack H. Obama: 2009–2017.
  • Donald J. Trump: 2017–2019.
  • Reflections on Successes and Failures.

2020/280 pages
ISBN: 978-1-62637-869-8
hc $95
ISBN: 978-1-62637-870-4
pb $35
Ebook available!
An ADST-DACOR Diplomats and Diplomacy Book

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.