Tunisia: President Kais Saied Appoints Hichem Mechichi to Form New Government

Tunisia flag

Tunis/Tunisia — President Kais Saied on Saturday appointed Hichem Mechchi, acting Interior Minister to form a new government.

Hichem Mechichi, was appointed on February 19, 2020, to the post of Minister of Interior in the Fakhfakh government.

On July 15, President Kaïs Saïed, had sent a letter to the speaker of the House of People's Representatives requesting the list of parties, coalitions and parliamentary blocs within the framework of the consultations for the appointment of the most suitable person to form the government, in accordance with Article 89 of the Constitution.

Kaïs Saïed had sent the first correspondence on the afternoon of July 15 to Rached Ghannouchi to inform him that he had received and accepted the letter of resignation of Prime Minister Elyes Fakhfakh in accordance with the provisions of Article 98 of the Constitution.

Prime Elyes Fakhfakh, had submitted his resignation to the President of the Republic on Wednesday, July 15 on suspicion of a conflict of interest weighing on him.

Hichem Mechichi's name was not among the candidates proposed by the parties and parliamentary groups that had presented their candidates for the President of the Republic.

The names of Khayam Turki, Deputy Secretary-General of the Democratic Forum for Labour and Freedoms (Ettakatol) and Fadhel Abdelkefi, former Minister of Development, Investment and International Cooperation, were the subject of a broad consensus in parliamentary circles.

Ennahdha movement (54 seats) and Qalb Tounes party (27 seats) thus proposed these two candidates for Prime Ministry.

The Watania bloc (11 seats) proposed four candidates for the Prime Ministry to the Head of State. They are Hatem Mliki and Ridha Charfeddine (belonging to the bloc), in addition to Fadhel Abdelkefi and Hakim Ben Hammouda.

The Democratic Current and the Echaâb movement which together form the democratic bloc (38 deputies) were unable to agree on a candidate for the Prime Ministry.

The Democratic Current party nominated Mohamed Abbou, Minister of State to the Head of Government in charge of the Civil Service, Governance and the Fight against Corruption, Ghazi Chaouchi, Minister of State Properties and Land Affairs and Mohamed Hamdi, Minister of Education.

The Echaâb movement, for its part, refrained from presenting candidates for the Prime Ministry, simply sending to the President of the Republic a correspondence that includes the criteria to be met by the future Prime Minister.

"Tahya Tounes" party proposed the names of Hakim Ben Hammouda, Minister of Economy and Finance in the government of Mehdi Jomâa, Fadhel Abdelkefi, Khayem Turki, Sonia Ben Cheikh, Minister of Health in the government of Youssef Chahed and Wadii Jeri, current president of the Tunisian Football Federation (FTF).

The Reform bloc has nominated Ghazi Jeribi, Minister of Justice in the government of Youssef Chahed, Fadhel AbdelKefi, Khayem Turki and Ali Koôli (senior banking and financial executive).

Al-Mostakbal bloc supported the candidacies of Fadhel Abdelkefi and Khayam Turki.

The Free Destorian Party (16 seats) and al-Karama Coalition (19 seats) did not put forward any candidates.

More From: Tunis Afrique Presse

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.