Kenya: ODM Makes Changes in Committees

11 August 2020

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) Tuesday made changes to its two critical organs, paving the way for party grassroots elections and revamping ahead of the 2022 General Election.

Mr Odinga chaired the party's Central Committee where the decision to reconstitute the ODM National Elections Board (NEB) and the National Disciplinary Committee was endorsed.

"During a meeting in Nakuru on June 27 and 28 last year, the National Executive Committee (NEC) mandated the Central Committee to reconstitute the party's standing committees," ODM secretary general Edwin Sifuna said Tuesday.

"The Central Committee has today made the following changes to the membership of the said committees and organs of the party."

Prof Catherine Mumma, who headed the task force that recommended far reaching changes the party, was named chairperson of the NEB - replacing nominated senator Judy Pareno.

Mr Abdulahi Diriye, Mr Richard Tairo, Syntei Nchoe and Ms Emily Awita are members of the board.

Ms Pareno and her team consisting of Mr Bob Arunga, Motindi Dominic, Ms Norah Anindo and Mr Edward Dzila were removed.

Prof Ben Sihanya was appointed chairman of the ODM disciplinary committee to replace Mr Paul Athuok.

Other members of the committee are Mr Ramadhani M. Abubakar, Ms Mumbi Ngaru, Mr Seth Kakusye and Dr Florence Omosa.

Mr Athuok's team consisted of Likoni MP Mishi Mboko, Ms Halima Daro and Mr Harold Kipchumba.

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.