Kenya: We Have a Deal, Sakaja and Murkomen Say of Counties Revenue Standoff

17 September 2020

Nairobi — A twelve-member Senate Committee set up to unlock the counties' revenue-sharing formula standoff has reached consensus.

Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja who co-chaired the committee said they had agreed unanimously on a formula, and were planning to table a report in the House on Thursday afternoon.

"The deed is done! Thanks to my committee of twelve (12) for the unanimous decision. We now await the white smoke from Senate plenary," Wetangula tweeted.

Sakaja too announced the agreement on Twitter, saying "deal". Both did not provide more details.

The Senate had failed, for a record 10 times, to agree on the best formula to be used by the national government to disburse funds to the counties prompting the Council of Governors to suspend services on Wednesday.

The County Assemblies Forum too announced Thursday that they will suspend services on September 24 if the crisis persists.

The proposed formula that will see the counties share the Sh316.5 billion for 2020-2021 financial year takes into account eight parameters including Basic share at 20 percent, Population 18 percent, Health 17 percent, Poverty Level 14 percent, Agriculture,10 percent, Roads 8 percent, Land 8 percent and Urban 5 percent.

More From: Capital FM

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.