Zimbabwe Cricket Launch New National Premier League

30 September 2020

Zimbabwe Cricket have launched the new National Premier League which is set to get underway this Sunday with nine teams drawn from across the country.

The competition, which is wholly sponsored by Zimbabwe Cricket, was launched by ZC chairman Tavengwa Mukuhlani in Harare on Wednesday afternoon.

The competing teams will include Amakhosi (Bulawayo), Great Zimbabwe Patriots (Masvingo), Harare Kings (Harare), Easterns (Mutare), Takashinga (Harare), Queens (Bulawayo), Rainbow (Harare), Gladiators (Harare) and MidWest Rhinos (Kwekwe).

The league programme will run until November and the top team at the end of the marathon wins the NPL title and US$10 000 prize money.

The previous national league was stopped two years ago due to financial constraints.

More From: The Herald

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.