Ethiopia: House of Federation Approves Request to Form New Regional State

The House of Federation has approved unanimously today the request to form a new regional state by joining five zonal administrations and one special Woreda (district) located in the southern part of Ethiopia.

The new regional state named 'South West Ethiopia Nations Regional State" will be formed by joining Kaffa, Sheka, Bench Sheko, Dawuro, and West Omo zones as well as Konta special woreda, it was indicated.

The zonal administrations and special woreda have requested for a new regional state as they share similar language, culture, history, and geographical landscape that would make them beneficial.

The house in its today session extensively discussed on the matter and unanimously approved the proposal to hold a referendum by the National Electoral Board of Ethiopia (NEBE).

Accordingly, about 13 zonal administrations in the South filed their request to the regional council to form their own states.

It was to be recalled that Sidama Regional State, located in the Southern part of Ethiopia was officially formed following the 2019 Referendum.

More From: ENA

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.