Webinar "Pulse Check - Trade Finance in Sub-Saharan Africa During Covid-19"

12 October 2020
Content from our Premium Partner
African Development Bank (Abidjan)

Event — virtual

What: Webinar "Pulse check - Trade Finance in Sub-Saharan Africa during COVID-19"

Who: African Development Bank, BADEA, International Trade Center, International Chamber of Commerce, IDB, BOAD EADB and MFW4A

When: 15 October 2020

1pm GMT (Abidjan) / 2pm (London) / 3 pm (Johannesburg) / 9am EST (New York)

Where: Online - Zoom https://afdb.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_1v5-JSsVQRi02bT8ZhGzHQ

Following the release of a collaborative report that assessed the impact of COVID-19 on trade finance, Making Finance Work for Africa (MFW4A), an initiative hosted by the African Development Bank, is pleased to invite you to the following webinar together with report co-authors from the African Development Bank, the Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA), the International Trade Center, the International Chamber of Commerce, Islamic Development Bank, West African Development Bank (BOAD) and East African Development Bank (EADB).

In this current unprecedented environment, policy makers & development organizations have attempted to respond to the multi-faceted pandemic and help sub-Saharan African countries ride these difficult times. Keeping trade in goods and services flowing presents an economic and social imperative to preserve the livelihoods of millions of Africans. Pre-COVID-19, the trade finance gap in Africa was already estimated to be above $100 billion.

What has been the impact of the pandemic on trade finance in the region and what can Multilateral Development Banks (MDBs) and governments do to support the trade finance sector?

To answer this question, eight MDBs and trade development institutions have engaged with selected members of the banking community across the region to gauge how the sector has fared so far during the COVID-19 pandemic. This webinar seeks to unpack the main conclusions of this exercise with key stakeholders involved. Most importantly, the expert panelists will summarize the main priorities for MDBs in the upcoming months to support the trade finance market.

Solange Kamuanga-Tossou | Communication and External Relations Department | African Development Bank. Email: s.kamuanga-tossou@afdb.org

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.