Namibia: Scholtz Wins Wanderers' Top Prize

Bernard Scholtz won Wanderers Cricket Club's Sportsman of the Year award at their annual awards ceremony over the weekend.

The national spin bowler won three trophies in total, after also winning the Best Bowler and Best Fielder awards. He took a total of 16 wickets for 179 runs at an average of 11,15, while his best performance came against Welwitschia in September 2019 when he took four wickets for eight runs.

Scholtz' brother and Wanderers captain Nicolaas Scholtz won the Best All-rounder award after scoring 173 runs at an average of 24,71, and taking 11 wickets at an average of 24,73.

JP Kotze won the Best Batsman award, scoring 465 runs at an average of 51,67, which included two fifties and one century and a highest score of 156 off 100 balls against United.

The 16-year-old Lu-Hendro de Waal won the Best Junior as well as the Up-and-coming awards, after taking 15 wickets for 121 runs at an average of 8,07, and a best performance against the WHS Vintage team of seven wickets for 19 runs, which included a hat-trick.

Jan-Izak de Villiers won the Most Improved Player award, while Gerhard Lotter won the Player's Player of the Year award, as well as the Best Fielder award in the Second Division, and Adriaan Engelbrecht the Most Dedicated Player of the Year award.

Suska Loftie-Eaton won the Scorer of the Year award and Tiaan Louw the Administrator of the Year award, while Wynand Louw won the Chairman's Award.

Petrus Smit won the Fielding Excellence award, while Rhyan Smith won two dubious awards, for scoring the most ducks and bowling the most wides.

In the First Division, Ewald Steenkamp won the Best Batsman as well as the Best All-rounder awards. He scored 504 runs at an average of 63 with a top score of 95 off 103 balls, and took 11 wickets for 106 runs at an average of 9,64, with a best performance of 3/6.

Stefan Jordaan won the Best Bowler award, taking 17 wickets for 163 runs at an average of 9,59 and a best performance of 6/23.

Annemarie de Villiers won the Most Loyal Supporter award.

JP Kotze, Stefan Swanepoel and JJ Smit all won merit awards for scoring centuries, while Lu-Hendro de Waal, Herschelle van Schalkwyk, Francois van Wyk, Petrus Smith and Stephan Jordaan won merit awards for taking five wickets or more in a match.

There were also merit awards for national representatives, with eight players having represented the senior national side, and two players each the u19 and u15 national sides.

The senior players are Karl Birkenstock, Niko Davin, Michau du Preez, Bernard Scholtz, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Jan Izak de Villiers and JP Kotze; the u19 players are JC Balt and Jan Izak de Villiers and the u15 players are Lu-Hendro de Waal and Hansie de Villiers.

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.