Kenya: Mulee Names Unknown Olake in Harambee Stars Squad

25 October 2020

Harambee Stars head coach Jacob "Ghost" Mulee has named his squad for the upcoming back-to-back 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Comoros next month.

The first leg will be played at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani on November 11 while the second leg is slated for November 15 in Comoros.

Little-known Mathew Olake is the surprise inclusion in Mulee's squad which is largely composed of players who have featured under his predecessor Francis Kimanzi.

Sofapaka midfielder Elli Asieche headlines the list of local based players who Mulee will be looking to assess with Moses Mudavadi, Peter Thiong'o (Kakamega Homeboyz), Robert Mboya, Boniface Muchiri (Tusker) and Daniel Sakari, Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks) all making a return.

'Calabar' returns

Gor Mahia teenage sensation Benson Omala will also be looking to impress Mulee in a department that has on form Kashiwa Reysol striker Michael Olunga and Egypt-based John Avire.

Spain-based Ismael Gonzalez and Zesco United defender David "Calabar" Owino are also back in the team having missed out on a call-up since last year's Africa Cup of Nations campaign in Egypt.

Local-based players are expected to kick off non-residential training on Wednesday while their foreign-based counterparts will report on November 2.



Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito, Kenya), Brian Mandela (Unattached), Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya) Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Mike Kibwage (Sofapaka, Kenya), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya), David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya)


Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Ismael Gonzalez (UD Las Palmas, Spain), Eric Johanna Omondi (Jonkopings Sodra, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Antony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Musa Masika (Wazito, Kenya), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya) Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Unattached), Peter Thion'go (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Elli Asieche (Sofapaka, Kenya), Mathew Olake (Unattached), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Austin Odhiambo (AFC Leopards, Kenya)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Benson Omala (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Masud Juma (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Avire (Tanta FC, Egypt), Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Dennis Sikhayi (Wazito, Kenya), James Kinyanjui (Mathare United, Kenya)

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.