Ethiopia: House Lifts TPLF Lawmakers' Immunity

A map showing the Tigray region of Ethiopia.

Addis Ababa — The House of Peoples' Representatives (HPR) has stripped members of the defiant TPLF lawmakers of their immunity from prosecution.

The House passed the decision after it discussed the proposed resolution in its 6th year of the 4th regular meeting held on Thursday.

Accordingly, Doctor Debretsion Gebremikael, Asmelash Woldesilassie, Abay Tsehaye, Ambassador Addisalem Balema, Getachew Reda, Atsibeha Aregawi and Gebregziabiher Araya were mentioned among the lawmakers whose immunity from prosecution was lifted by the House.

It is to be recalled that the tyranny TPLF clique had attacked the Northern Command based in Tigray Region on November 4, 2020.

Last week, the House has also endorsed a six-month state of emergency decree on Tigray Regional State as proposed by the Council of Ministers.

More From: ENA

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.