Namibia: Law Association Elects New Council

24 November 2020

ELEVEN lawyers have been elected to serve on the new council of the Namibia Law Association.

According to a media statement by the council's chairperson, Yolanda Itamba, the 11 legal practitioners were elected during the association's annual general meeting on Friday.

They will serve for a period of two years ending in November 2022.

The council serves as the executive organ of the association and governs, controls and administrates the affairs, activities and assets of the association, Itamba said.

The elected members are Itamba, Taswald July, Gaenor Michaels, Nafimane Halweedo, Ileni Gebhardt, Jack Eixab, Saima Nambinga, Adda Angula, Vistorina Name, Henry Shimutwikeni and Esther Shigwedha.

"The members of the governance council are all lawyers who serve the legal fraternity in various roles and capacities," the statement read.

More From: Namibian

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 900 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.