Somalia's Opposition Calls for Dissolution of Electoral Teams

27 November 2020

More than a dozen Somali politicians seeking to unseat President Mohamed Farmaajo have demanded a total overhaul of the electoral committees charged with conducting the planned polls.

The 14 candidates, among them ex-Presidents and former Prime Ministers, issued a declaration on Thursday warning they may be forced to conduct a parallel election unless their demands on the composition of the electoral commissions are addressed.

The aspirants include former presidents Sharif Sheikh Ahmed and Hassan Sheikh Mohamoud plus immediate ex-Prime Minister Hassan Ali Khaire.

Others include a former parliamentary speaker Sharif Hassan Sheikh Aden, former Finance minister Hussein Abdi Halane as well as former ministers and government officials including Abdikarim Guled, a former Interior minister.

The seemingly high-powered group had been gathering in Mogadishu since Friday for a consultative meeting, the first united front among them.

On Thursday, their 18-point declaration included demands to dismantle the electoral committees formed in October to manage the elections.

These include the National Electoral Committee (NEC) and the Electoral Dispute Committee (EDC).

"The committees must be abolished and new committees appointed based on consensus," the candidates stated in their first point.

They suspect that the committee members nominated by the Federal Government of Somalia (FGS) and the five Federal Members States (FMS) of Puntland, South West, Galmudug, Hirshabelle and Jubbaland, included state officials, armed personnel and even security agents.

They also raised the controversial issue of who should manage the elections of representatives of the Somaliland, the breakaway region of Somalia in the north west.

The group sided with the current Speaker of the Senate Abdi Hashi Abdullahi who wants to appoint the committees that will manage the election of the legislators to represent Somaliland.

They also want the committees to handle the legislators from the Banadiri community in Mogadishu to be managed by individuals chosen by the community themselves instead of being state-managed.

Currently, there are separate NEC and EDC that were appointed by Prime Minister Mohamed Hussein Roble to manage the Somaliland and Banadiri elections in Mogadishu.

Threatening the election

Showing some kind of distrust, the candidates proposed "the election of the 46 Somaliland and 5 Banadiri lawmakers be held at a compound inside the exclusive security zone of Mogadishu's Aden Abdulle Airport in the presence of the candidates, the international community, Somali Police Force and the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM)."

The presidential hopefuls want the federal government to withdraw forces from Gedo region to enable Jubbaland State to manage its own regions.

This shows that the difference between the federal government and the Kismayu-based leadership of Jubbaland State remains an issue threatening the election.

The originator of Thursday's communiqué advised the leaders of the FMS to refrain from holding an election not approved by all stakeholders through consensus.

They also asked for the resignation of the Director of the National Intelligence and Security Agency (NISA) Fahad Haji Yasin Dahir whom they said was the leader of the re-election of the incumbent Farmaajo.

"To achieve neutrality NISA Director has to resign from the post," the communiqué stated in point 11 of its 18 points.

astly, the signatories of the communiqué urged the government to desist from holding an election that is not totally agreed. They threatened to "hold a parallel election to form an administration.

This will avoid having a power vacuum in the country," stated the communiqué's last point.

President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmaajo and the Five-FMS presidents, Said Abdullahi Deni of Puntland, Ahmed Qoor of Galmudug, Mohamed Abdi Ware of Hirshabelle, Laftagareen of South West ad Ahmed Madobe of Jubbaland plus the Mayor of Mogadishu, agreed on 1st of October an indirect election model, allowing 101 delegates from the clans to elect each member of the parliament.

The agreed timeline showed that 54 senators of the Upper House and 275 MPs of the Lower House will be elected before the end of 2020.

A joint session of the bicameral parliament is scheduled to elect the president. The incumbent is known to be a candidate.

More From: Nation

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 600 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.