Somalia: Eight Regional MPs Stripped of Impunity for Going Against Standing Orders

Eight lawmakers in the Puntland parliament have been removed from their parliamentary immunity on Thursday.

According to the speaker, the lawmakers have gone against the house's standing orders and procedures that prompted the impunity loss.

During the session in Garowe early in the morning, 35 legislators out of 38 present voted in favour of the motion, 2 opposed and one abstained from voting.

The names of the MPs are as follows:

Abdijamaal Osman Mohamed

2. Abdiqani Abshir Surato

3. Muse Said Hassan (Jajabsay)

4. Abdiaziz Salad Ga'may (Baduugaye)

5. Mohamud Mohamed Barre

6. Suleiman Farah Isse.

More From: Shabelle

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 700 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.