Kenya: Counties to Receive Sh370 Billion in the Next Financial Year

20 January 2021

Nairobi — The 47 counties are set to receive a total of Sh370 billion from the National Treasury in the financial year 2021/2022, up from the current Sh316.5 billion.

The new estimates were released by the Commission on Revenue Allocation and factors in President Uhuru Kenyatta's promise of increasing the counties funds by an additional Sh53.5 billion.

The allocation of the monies to the counties constitutes of a baseline equitable share allocation of Sh316.5 billion, unconditional allocation of Sh17.02 billion to be shared by all counties and transfer of Sh36.48 billion to counties from various ministries, departments and Agencies in the national government.

This will mainly be for performance of concurrent functions in the areas of health, crop development, livestock, fisheries, water, irrigation and sanitation.

The biggest beneficiaries in the new allocation is Nairobi County which is set to receive Sh19.2 billion from the current Sh15.9 billion, Nakuru will receive Sh10.4 billion and Kiambu Sh11.7 billion shillings.

More to follow.

More From: Capital FM

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.