Namibia: Team Cymot Off to Winning Start

CYMOT Racing Team got off to a winning start when they won the first race of the 2021 Windhoek Pedal Power series in Swakopmund on Sunday.

Team Cymot, which was only formed towards the end of last year, won the men's team competition over 59km in a time of one hour 18 minutes 41 seconds.

The Cymot team consists of top elite rider Marc Pritzen and experienced riders like Cobus Smit, Fanie Steenkamp, Pierre Knoetze and Jurgen Sander, with the average time of their first three riders taken as the team's time.

Team Cycletec powered by Hollard came second, more than a minute behind in 1:19:45. Team Cycletec includes top elite rider Martin Fryer and top juniors Hugo Hahn and Bergran Jensen, as well as Horst Neumann and Gerhard Breed.

Team Cathy, consisting of Willie van Zyl, Jacques van Zyl, Jaco Hanekom and Jacques Celliers came third in 1:23:33.

The men's team competition saw a fine turnout with nine teams completing the race.

Team Food Lover's Market came fourth in 1:24:43, Lumber City Men fifth in 1:25:06, and Team NCCS sixth in 1:25:15.

The other teams to complete the men's race were RMB Elite Team (1:28:48), Lumber City Pink (1:33:45) and Legacy of Love (1:37:41).

In the women's team competition over 53km, Team Cycletec powered by Hollard were comfortable winners in 1:24:46, finishing more than two minutes ahead of Team Food Lovers Market in 1:27:08.

Team Cycletec includes Maike Bochert, Lelani Swart, Zoe Mitchell, Anneke Steenkamp and Robyn-Lee Swartz, while Team Food Lovers Market includes Leandie Labuschagne, Jaen Marie Mostert, Michelle Doman and Binette Klein.

Team Cymot Racing, consisting of Monique du Plessis, Nicola Fester, Sonja Obholzer and Sandra Lippert came third in 1:27:39.

They were followed by Team MBM (1:27:44) and Team PSG (1:31:39).

Christian Bean won the Open Men's individual category in 1:16:21, followed by Allan Vivier (1:16:29) and Christo Swartz (1:16:36), who beat Max Betts (1:16:36) and Christopher du Plessis (1:16:39) in a sprint to the line.

Greg Chase won the Master Men category in 1:16:35, followed by Nick du Plessis (1:16:59) and Gerhard Mans (1:22:07), while Hartmut Ruppel won the Grand Master Men's category in 52:45, followed by Hans Peter Drobisch in 1:00:15.

Hilde Marie Olivier won the Open Women's category in 1:30:00, followed by Candice Wiggill (1:30:41) and Jeanne Heunis (1:33:48), while Berrit Graf won the Grand Master Women's category in 1:08:50.

Renton Shanco won the Men's Sport category in 1:33:26, beating Michael Lowe and Frank Klosta in a sprint to the line, while Handrie Gous won the Sport Women's category in 58:46, followed by Bianca Janse van Vuuren (59:31) and Bronwen Chase (59:40).

Adrian Key won the boys u16 category, Beulker Lotte won the girls u16 category, Roger Suren won the boys u14 category, Delsia Jane van Rensburg won the girls u14 category, Theodor Janse van Vuuren won the u12 boys category, and Micah Chase won the u10 boys category.

More From: Namibian

Don't Miss

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.